I've moved the blog!

I've moved my blog to www.coolcatteacher.com as well as all of the posts from this blog. Learn more...

Friday, January 23, 2009

Having a Bash: Join us for Thomas Friedman & Doha Debates webstreamed live 1/24/2009



Day 0 of Flat Classroom conference. We have some exciting events tomorrow and welcome your participation.  (Also, check our wiki for ustreams.)

Live Webcast Events Day 1 January 24, 2009


Thomas Friedman - Streamed live on EdtechTalk and also on Future of Education in Elluminate
6am Pacific / 9am Eastern / 2pm GMT: Live stream of Tom Friedman addressing students (international times here)

Doha Debates the Flat Classroom Concept - A joint session between the Flat Classroom Conference in Doha, Qatar and Educon in Philadelphia, PA streamed through the Future of Education - elluminate room Log in at https://sas.elluminate.com/m.jnlp?sid=2008350&password=M.3969DF.... The Elluminate room will be open up to 30 minutes before the event if you want to come in early.
7am Pacific / 10am Eastern / 3pm GMT: Flat Classroom Debates begin (international times here).

Check for ustream links here also and please, join our Ning.

Conference Schedule



 Dune Bashing
 
Find more videos like this on Flat Classroom Conference


Truly, dune bashing will go down in my personal record book as one of the greatest travel experiences of my life.  It was unbelievable.  This is the photo album including  a lot of photos taken by the participants and a video of dune bashing, the students talking about it and some of my colleagues and I relaxing at the desert barbeque.  It is great to start off with an event like this because you get to relax and have a great time!  We rode camels too!  A lot like a horse except when you get on, you'd better hang on because when the camel gets up, you are at about a 70 degree angle looking at the ground!  Amazing!

The staff at Qatar Academy has impressed everyone on the trip!  It was so much fun and they set it up with the longest running tour company in Qatar. 

 
Find more photos like this on Flat Classroom Conference



I hope that we can work it out to take more students and staff next year!  To do that, we'll have to start working on it now!

OK, gotta run now, it is 10:20 pm here and there is still quite a bit more work on my list to do.  A big shout out to my sister Sarah who designed our Flat Classroom Logo about 2 years a go (it brings tears to my eyes to see it on our banners) and who designed the DigiDollars we'll be using at the conference.

Getting ready for a project based learning conference - it will be exciting.  Julie Lindsay is a champ!
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Disqus Comments for Cool Cat Teacher Blog